6 TYPES OF ALLERGY-SAFE HALLOWEEN CANDY
It’s nearly time for trick or treaters to fill their bags with candy. The long time Halloween tradition is one of the most looked-forward-to days in a child’s year. It’s also a day that can mean big trouble for kids with nut, gluten, casein and other food allergies. It’s vital that parents and caretakers are aware of which treats are safe to eat for kids with food allergies. The Healthy Path Foundation shares six types of allergy-safe Halloween candy.
Dum Dums. These are certainly not a dumb decision to buy. Dum Dums are free of peanuts, tree nuts, milk, eggs, fish, shellfish, and wheat gluten. They are made on dedicated equipment to eliminate contaminations, with only trace amounts of soy oil present in the cooking kettle lubricant.
Skittles and Starbursts. Skittles and Starbursts are nut-free and manufactured in segregated areas within the facility to avoid cross-contamination of allergens. Both Skittles and Starbursts do, however, contain gluten and should not be given to children with wheat or gluten allergies.
Ring Pops. Ring Pops are not only fun and playful, but they are also allergen free, aside from FD&C Yellow 5 which very few, but some consumers are sensitive to. Ring Pops do not contain any fish or shellfish, dairy products, nut products, soy, or wheat.
Smarties. Won’t you feel smart handing out this peanut, tree nut, milk, egg, fish, crustacean, shellfish, wheat, gluten, and soy free treat. Smarties are free of all common allergens and are suitable for vegan diets.
Swedish Fish. These chewy treats are free of the top 8 food allergens. Swedish fish do not contain peanuts, tree nuts, wheat gluten, fish, shellfish, soy, milk, or eggs.
Dubble Bubble Original Bubblegum. An all-time classic, dubble bubble delivers delicious fun without gluten, tree-nuts or peanuts. They are also certified kosher products.